Farmers and flora

20120517-171915.jpg
Last weekend was all about plants. On Saturday morning we took in the Mackay Farmer’s market at the race track.

20120517-172049.jpg
We were delighted to find locally grown bananas and limes. I bought 5 limes for $2 and ended up with 7 since the vendor was both generous and hoping to unload her stock to pack up and enjoy the sunny but refreshingly cool weather. We bought garlic from Eungella and avocados from Walkerston. With the last of our cash, I picked up passion fruit butter, and I must admit, I have yet to try it.

20120517-172442.jpg
All sorts of people were at the market, which was great to see not only because it supports local growers, but also to witness the existence of diversity in the country city.

20120517-172631.jpg
Back at home, I spent the afternoon moving our container garden from the back balcony to the front. With the change of season, the afternoon sun is stronger in the north. I planted lettuce, rocket, basil, rosemary and lavender. I must admit, I’m most looking forward to the lavender. A couple days ago at work, I confessed to my colleague that around this time of year at UBC I would ‘harvest’ some of the lavender that grows on campus grounds and hang it to dry in residence. I was caught once, but thankfully it was only a friend and not campus security.

20120517-173053.jpg
Most of the plants from our first planting back in January are doing well, especially Bernie the heirloom capsicum (pictured). The lemon tree still hasn’t bloomed and aphids ate most of our Black Russian tomatoes, but after some TLC of pruning and fertilizer, I’m hoping for the best.

20120517-173337.jpg
Every month or so I refresh the flowers in our kitchen green glass ‘vases.’ I walked into the florist that afternoon looking for Gerbera Daisies but came out with Hyacinths. They look and smell gorgeous. It’s a treat to come home everyday to a house that smells deliciously botanical.

Leave a comment