Burnett Beacons

Since the first day of May, I have walked through Burnett Lane every day on my way to Shri Yoga. I’m on Day 6 of a 30 day yoga challenge. Strolling, or in some cases, power walking, through Burnett Lane to the yoga studio is a delight. Burnett Lane is one of the revitalised laneways in the Brisbane city heart. Reminiscent of Melbourne streets, Burnett Lane is a respite from the bustle of Queen St Mall and it’s brand name shops.

You’ll find a German sausage cafe, a bar called Super Whatnot, a French florist and of course, Shri in Burnett Lane. You’ll also find a pop-up architecture show put on by first year students. Burnett Beacons are battery powered lanterns designed by first-year architecture students from the University of Queensland. They partnered with Reverse Garbage (one of my favourite social enterprises) to turn industrial waste into urban treasures. I walked past the students setting up their beacons on a Friday afternoon.

Which is your favourite?

One thought on “Burnett Beacons

  1. My favourite is the hanging shell, for sure. Though I’d love it more if it was an actual chair, instead of holding the vase piece instead.

Leave a comment