Paramodel exhibit at APT7

When APT7 opened in December 2012, I was captured by Paramodel, constructed by Osaka’s Yasuhiko Hayashi and Yusuke Nakano.

I’m the daughter of a carpenter. Business plans covered the dining room table in the wee hours of the morning when Dad built houses full-time. When I saw Paramodel, I was immediately drawn to the large scale plans and diagrams which reminded me of the cross-section books I enjoyed as a child. The pipe and pin wall reminded me of 80s computer game Pipe Mania.

Clearly, viewing Paramodel was a nostalgic experience for me. Then came the sushi trucks: plastic nigiri mounted on toy trucks. I found them joyful, not unlike how I feel about the many mechanical toys in my collection. I wish I could have taken one home.

APT7 sadly closes on 14 April. Chris and I went to see the exhibit and the rest of the art event one last time on Sunday afternoon.

Leave a comment